Casa Figueras

The LaFou winery lies at the very centre of Batea, in the village’s main square. In ancient times, this was the site of a large reservoir of water that supplied the people of the village and, above all, its livestock. In 1787, the decision was made to eliminate it for hygiene reasons, but this was not achieved until two years later when, thanks to the channelling of the Llavar spring and the construction of the Botera fountain, running water reached the village. In 1803, the reservoir was definitively covered and the main square of Batea was built, thus encouraging the urban growth of the locality.

Apparently, the olive oil mill, which existed in the building from 1780, was unable to continue operating without the water reservoir, therefore it was sold to the Figueras family, who turned the building into their home.

Today it is owned by the Roqueta family, who have renovated it to create a unique space with all the facilities of a modern winery. This intervention has revealed the different elements used in the production and storage of wine and olive oil, and other architectural features, such as ancestral capitals and old fermentation tanks, thus showing the qualities typical of manor house constructions in the 18th and 19th centuries.

The winery also has a completely renovated inner courtyard, which is equipped with the finest systems for selection and care of the grapes, with the aim of maintaining the distinguishing characteristics of the region in the varieties cultivated on its territory.

See more pictures